Share on LinkedIn0Tweet about this on TwitterShare on Facebook0Google+0

Merging Prospects

Pardot has the option to manually merge two or more prospects. Because of the complex nature of marketing automation (involving rules, drips, etc.), please make sure you familiarize yourself with the information below.

Merge Action

Simply multi-select the prospects you would like to merge, select merge from the action dropdown, and click “Go” to start the merging process.

Merge Action

Select Field Values

Next select the field (and custom field) values you would like the new prospect to inherit. By default, it will inherit the master prospect’s values.

Merge: Select Field Values

Select Lists and Tags

You can also select any lists and tags to inherit. Again, by default it will inherit the master prospect’s lists and tags. Selecting another prospect will add that prospect’s lists or tags in addition to the master’s.

Merge: Select Lists and Tags


Then click “Merge.” Prospects will be merged and you will be notified via email when the action is complete. Once a merge occurs, the non-master prospects are completely wiped out of Pardot, not placed in the recycle bin, so caution should be taken when using this feature.


  • If any of the merged prospects have been affected by an automation rule, the resulting prospect will be marked as having already been affected and cannot have that rule affect it again. This is a safety measure to prevent a rule from running on an individual too many times.
  • The resulting prospect will inherit the drip program history of any of its merged prospects and will start at the farthest possible step (e.g. if merged prospect A is on step 3 of a drip and prospect B is on step 2, the resulting prospect will start at step 3). Again, this is a safety measure to prevent the resulting prospect from receiving a drip action that it already has passed through.
  • The activities of the merged prospects will be aggregated and the resulting prospect will have its score calculated during the merge.
  • If the prospect returns to your site and completes a Pardot form with the non-master email address that you already merged into another record, Pardot will create a new record for the prospect but it will be filtered from view. Only Administrator users in “Show Filtered Activities: On” mode will be able to see the prospect.

CRM Syncing

If the non-master Pardot record is syncing with the CRM, once it is merged into the master Pardot record, we stop syncing the non-master record with the CRM. We treat the Pardot record as deleted so no updates to that CRM record will be pulled into Pardot. Instead the syncing occurs through the master record and its corresponding CRM record. If the master record has not yet synced with the CRM, no syncing will occur until the master record is assigned in Pardot and pushed to the CRM.