We’re excited to announce several new updates to our Salesforce connector: an improved bidirectional sync and the ability to automatically delete or merge prospects if the corresponding records in Salesforce are deleted or merged.
Automatically Delete or Merge Prospects
Today, we are releasing a new feature that gives users the ability to automatically delete or merge prospects if the corresponding records in Salesforce are deleted or merged. Previously, if a lead or contact was deleted in Salesforce, it would remain in Pardot with a deleted status, but could still be emailed or marketed to. With this new option enabled, if a lead or contact is deleted or merged in the CRM, the same will automatically happen in Pardot as well. This will make the syncing experience smoother for our users and prevent test or junk records from counting toward database limits.
This new option is available in your connector settings. You can see what it looks like in the screenshot below:
See a list of additional merge and delete scenarios in our updated Knowledge Base article here.
Improved Bidirectional Sync
We recently released an important update to our bidirectional sync that ensures customers are retaining the most up-to-date data at all times. Previously, Salesforce or Pardot was always the system of record for a field. However, because Pardot users have several different sources updating data in Salesforce and in Pardot at any given time, we’ve updated our sync so that users do not have to choose one system over another. Instead, updates will sync based on the record that was last updated. This means that if Pardot and Salesforce values differ when a data sync occurs, the value of the field in the record that was most recently updated will overwrite the value of the field in the record that was least recently updated.
Pardot customers using the Salesforce Connector have the option to select “Sync Behavior” on both prospect custom and default fields. For each field, users can decide to use the improved bidirectional sync by choosing “Use the most recently updated record.” You can see what this looks like in the screenshot below:
Learn more in our updated Knowledge Base article here.