If your organization has several users who edit emails or email templates, you may occasionally receive a warning that another user already has the item open for editing. This article will walk you through why this happens and how to prevent losing work.

Background

Sessions

When using the Pardot Email Flow and Email Template Flow, you are working with a copy of the email or email template. When you open an email or template draft, it starts a session. Only you can see what changes have been made during a session until you commit them to the master copy by saving. There are several different ways to save emails and templates (see this article for information), and some of the methods close your current session and open a new session:

  • Save and Save Draft commit your session and open a new one.
  • Save and Exit, Save Draft and Exit, and Publish to Template commit your session and exit Email Flow or Email Template Flow without creating a new session.
  • Cancel ends your session without committing your changes or creating a new session.

Until you commit a session by saving, your changes are only visible to you. For example, let’s say you add a new header to an email draft, click Save, and then add a new image a few minutes later. Your coworker opens the same email draft immediately after you clicked Save — your coworker will only see the new header, not the image.

In this scenario, when you clicked Save, your new header was committed to the master, your original session was closed, and a new session was started. Your coworker only sees the changes from your last committed session before he opened the draft. Let’s say that your coworker adds a paragraph of text to the email, and then clicks Save and Exit. A few minutes later, you click Save and Exit in your session. Your coworker’s draft will be overwritten by yours and the paragraph of text will be gone. You will not have seen his paragraph of text, and he will not have seen your image.

Multiple users editing the same email or email template at the same time could result in one user’s changes being lost.

What happens when you leave a session open

If you leave a session open, other users may get a warning message when they try to edit the same email or template:

This message can appear if someone left a session open by doing any of the following while editing:

  • Leaving the browser window open on the draft and forgetting about it
  • Closing the browser or navigating away from the draft without clicking Cancel or Save and Exit/Save Draft and Exit
  • Logging out of Pardot without clicking Cancel or Save and Exit/Save Draft and Exit
  • Switching between the Building, Testing, or Sending tabs without eventually clicking Save and Exit or Cancel

Best Practices

When multiple users routinely edit the same emails and templates, it’s best follow these guidelines:

  • Don’t edit the same drafts at the same time.
  • When you’re finished editing a draft and ready to hand it off to someone else, always click Save and Exit or Save Draft and Exit to commit your changes and close your session. See this article for more on saving.

Troubleshooting Scenarios

I got a warning saying that someone else is editing this email or template, what do I do?

If you see a warning stating that another user is already editing this email or email template, please contact that user to have them close out of their open editing sessions by clicking Cancel (to abandon changes) or Save and Exit /Save Draft and Exit. For more information on saving in Email Flow and Email Template Flow, see this article.

I closed my browser and logged out of Pardot, but my coworker is seeing a message that says I’m editing the email or template, what do I do?

Cancel and Save and Exit/Save Draft and Exit and are the only ways to properly close out a session in Email Flow and Email Template Flow. Navigating away from the page or closing the browser window will leave your current session open, even if you log out of Pardot. These scenarios will result in other users getting the warning message.

To finish an active editing session, click edit on the email or email template. This should bring up your previous editing session. Click Cancel to abandon any changes you have made, or Save and Exit/Save Draft and Exit to apply the changes and end the active session.

Note: if you choose to apply your changes, any other users with active editing sessions will need to cancel their sessions and click edit again to have your changes carried forward.

If you receive this warning but it does not seem that any other users are still editing, please contact our Solutions Team.

Example

Scenario in which one user’s changes are lost:

User A starts editing “Newsletter Email Template”
User B starts editing “Newsletter Email Template”
User A adds a new header image to the email template
User B adds an additional paragraph of text to the email template
User B clicks Save and Exit to save their changes and close the session
User A clicks Save and Exit to save their changes and close the session

At this point, User B’s changes will have been overwritten by User A, and the email template will only have the new header image User A added.

What to do instead:

Instead, the recommended course of action is for one of the users to close their session by clicking Cancel and waiting to edit again until the other user has finished making their changes and saved them by clicking Save and Exit/Save Draft and Exit in Email Flow or Email Template Flow:

User A starts editing “Newsletter Email Template”
User B starts editing “Newsletter Email Template”
User B sees User A is already editing and clicks Cancel in her session
User A adds a new header image to the email template
User A clicks Save and Exit to save their changes and close the session
User A communicates to User B she’s done making changes
User B again starts editing “Newsletter Email Template”
User B adds an additional paragraph of text to the email template
User B clicks Save and Exit to save their changes and close the session

The above process will ensure User A’s changes are carried through as User B makes her additional changes.

At this point, you may need to communicate with the other user to ensure all changes from both users are applied.

If either user navigates away from Email Flow or Email Template Flow without saving or canceling, their editing session will still be active, and will not reflect any changes the other user makes.